ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Change of Work permit

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

kimleach
Newly Registered

Change of Work permit

Post by kimleach » Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:55 pm

Hi
I was wondering if anyone can help.

I have been here for 4 years this month and working on a work permit. I am a CAD Technician and have been doing this for 20 years (in SA before coming here in 2002). We were eagerly waiting to apply for ILR this August only to have the rules change in April - so we were 4 months short (not fair!!). Anyway I am really sick of my job and have been offered my dream job - Chritian Youth Worker! I have been doing it for 4 years now on a voluntary basis and have become quite involved and have loads of experience.

We have applied for a work permit, but because of the nature of the job they did not approve it. I have looked at switching to an entry clearance in the religious field (i.e. minister,missionary etc.) which they said I could do, but then they say I will loose my 4 years and have to start again in accumulating years for ILR. Is this true?

Does anybody know of any other way to change? If my husband gets a work permit for his job (he is currently my dependant) and I become his dependant instead do we also loose our 4 year status? Is there some way we can try and apply for ILR seeing as though we haven't been out the country since coming over in September 2002?

HELP!!!
:?
Thanks
Kim

rooi_ding