ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Which one to tick Employed or Self Employed - Pl help

Archived UK Tier 1 (General) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

meetravi

Which one to tick Employed or Self Employed - Pl help

Post by meetravi » Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:12 pm

I am a IT Contractor who owns 100% of shareholder and director of a IT Company. I Pay Class1 NIC, Take salary and dividends.

I would like to know which one to tick in Tier 1 Extension application as employed or self employed ?

Irony is my Accountant consider me as employed because I take salary and pay Class 1 NIC even though I am a director of an company where as as per below case worker guidance link at UKBA

http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/sitecontent/d...

Please have a read on Annex C

Its mentioned like

"Where an applicant is claiming earnings from the UK and is operating through a limited liability company, they are often involved in the day to day management of the company or are the sole shareholder. In such circumstances, they should be considered as Self-Employed."

So as per UKBA which means I fall on Self Employed category .

Seniors Please help solve this grey area ?

WRS

Post by WRS » Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:48 pm

What your accountant is saying is correct and what you have seen in UKBA guidance is also correct!

For tax purposes, HMRC considers you employed; while for immigration purposes UKBA guidance says you are self-employed. So, when filling the application you shall follow UKBA guidelines.