ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA Family Permit refused - because I work in Gibraltar?

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

onlineamiga

EEA Family Permit refused - because I work in Gibraltar?

Post by onlineamiga » Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:37 pm

Hi,

I have been reading these forums for a while. I am a British national resident in Spain. My wife is South African also resident in Spain in possession of an Spanish issued residence card that states at the back "Family member of Union National" and then my details.

As we all know, EU law states that she should be able to enter the UK with me as long as she is present with me. But as theyre a bunch of muppets, (to put it politely) we have had to go to the lengths of applying for an EEA Family Permit in order for us to visit England to see family for Christmas.

After a 3 month wait, and a 7 hour drive to Madrid, overnight hotel stay and then submitting everything, and a long drive back. They had the audacity to REFUSE the clearance.

Why?

Basically Regulation 9. As a family member of a British national who has been / was previously working or self employed in another Member State. However in view of your failure to provide documentary evidence that the British citizen is/was working or self employed in another Mmeber state prior to returning to coming to the United Kingdom, I am not satisfied that the regulations apply in this case.

This is despite the fact that as part of the application we submitted:

Last 3 months worth of pay slips from my employer.