ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

DUI Conviction in the US

About immigration to Canada, canadian immigration programms.
Skilled worker points calculator | about skilled worker immigration

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

shridharmeister
Newly Registered

DUI Conviction in the US

Post by shridharmeister » Sat Dec 23, 2006 8:52 pm

Hi all,

I was a student on F1 visa in the U.S. and was convicted of DUI. I met all the requirements from court, and recently I also got a 10 yr B1/B2 visa. I was thinking my DUI conviction would render me inadmissible to the U.S., however, that wasn't the case. I guess, I was lucky. They took my fingerprints at the US Embassy, and after getting a clearance granted me a visa. Actually, I am in the U.S. for a month, and I didn't encounter any issues at the immigration port as well.

However, I was now planning on apply for a Grad School in Canada, and after completion of my studies was planning on Working there, as I have a few companies who are interested in hiring me because I have done some work for them in the past. My only concern is, would I be able to enter Canada although I have a previous DUI conviction in the US ?

I was doing some research, and found that some blog posts indicated that if you have a prior DUI conviction in the US then you are rendered inadmissible in Canada, and cannot apply for any other benefits i.e. permanent residency, citizenship, etc.

I have a good career scope in Canada, and a lot of oppurtunity for me. Please advise me, if my prior DUI will cause any issues for me in the Canada.

I will really appreciate your inputs.

Thank you in advance.

Shridharmeister