ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tax returns for independant contractors

Archived UK Tier 1 (General) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

hopefulApplicant
Newly Registered

Tax returns for independant contractors

Post by hopefulApplicant » Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:07 pm

Hi All,

I am about to apply for my HSMP application as soon as my business bank account statements and UK Naric letter arrive. My one remaining issue is what to supply for a tax return.

As I work as a self employed contractor through my own limited company, all I have is a self assessment tax return (prepared and lodged by my accountant). However, the guidelines specify that self assessment returns are not admissible as they are not independant.

I would just like to hear from anyone who has been in a similar position and what they submitted (and also if their submission was successful).

Thanks,
Chris

pantaiema
Diamond Member

Re: Tax returns for independant contractors

Post by pantaiema » Fri Jan 12, 2007 7:07 pm

They do not accept self assessment as it is not indepenjdent

Pantaiema
hopefulApplicant wrote:Hi All,

I am about to apply for my HSMP application as soon as my business bank account statements and UK Naric letter arrive. My one remaining issue is what to supply for a tax return.

As I work as a self employed contractor through my own limited company, all I have is a self assessment tax return (prepared and lodged by my accountant). However, the guidelines specify that self assessment returns are not admissible as they are not independant.