ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Do I have any visa options?

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

giblet
United States of America

Do I have any visa options?

Post by giblet » Wed Jun 19, 2013 9:35 pm

I'm a US citizen who used to have a HSMP and then a Tier 1 visa. I left the UK (thinking I'd never move back) and my visa expired last year. I'm now in a relationship with a UK citizen and we'd like to move back to the UK. As a self-employed person (I'm a writer) are there any visa options available to me?

If I came to the UK on another type of visa (student, maybe?) could I apply for another Tier 1? My understanding is that Tier 1 is still open to those still in the UK.

I'm hoping to not have to get married in order to return to the UK, but that is still an option (although not the best one, in my mind).

Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

thebionicredneck2003
Member of Standing

Post by thebionicredneck2003 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:21 pm

Hi,

Tier 1 General Visa is closed, so you will be unable to apply for this visa whether you are in the UK or outside.

You need to have a look at http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/ and see if you qualify for a visa in any other categories and apply accordingly.
Regards

giblet
United States of America

Post by giblet » Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:45 pm

Thanks. It looks like my days of being a highly-skilled migrant are over and marriage is my best option. Bummer.

Casa
United Kingdom