ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Query regarding Croatian partner moving to UK

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

spencey7
Newly Registered

Query regarding Croatian partner moving to UK

Post by spencey7 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 12:45 pm

Hello all,

Apologies in advance if this is listed in the wrong part of the forum - if someone can point me in the right direction that would be great.

I have a few questions with regards to UK immigration pertaining to Croatian nationals moving to the UK. I am a UK resident and have been in a long-distance relationship with my Croatian partner for almost three years (we met in June 2010 and became a couple in October 2010). Since then we have met several times in the UK, Croatia and across Europe, and she has stayed with me in Scotland for two longer spells in January-March 2011 and January-March 2012. We can of course provide evidence in all of these instances as proof that we are in a "durable relationship". We have no dependents.

Ultimately our respective jobs have been preventing us from moving in together long-term - she has been based in Croatia; myself in Scotland - but we are keen for that to change, and are making plans for her to live with me here in the UK. We have been in touch with immigration lawyers and will meet them for advice, and to ensure we are doing everything properly, but we would also appreciate anyone's advice with regards to UK entry as "the unmarried partner of a UK national" under Form CR1. Does anyone have experience of this process?