ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Urgent SEGS enquiry

Employers looking for workers, people looking for employers: Get connected here.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

hun12
Newly Registered

Urgent SEGS enquiry

Post by hun12 » Wed Mar 07, 2007 6:50 pm

Hi I got my MA degree results in July 2006 and I got my degree in Nov 2006. But my course is not in the SEGS list which cud enable me to apply for SEGS leave. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to apply for SEGS visa scheme.

Thanks alot.

AkashS
Member of Standing

Post by AkashS » Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:28 am

Do you know what SEGS means? It is Science & Engineering Graduate Scheme, which allows students with some specific (normally oit covers all courses) Science & Engineering graduates to stay in the UK for 1 more year after their course completion.

As far as I know MA (Master of Arts) does not come under Science...

You better try HSMP if you are eligible :)

sakura
Diamond Member

Re: Urgent SEGS enquiry

Post by sakura » Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:45 am

hun12 wrote:Hi I got my MA degree results in July 2006 and I got my degree in Nov 2006. But my course is not in the SEGS list which cud enable me to apply for SEGS leave. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to apply for SEGS visa scheme.

Thanks alot.
You cannot apply for SEGS (or the new IGS) because your degree falls in the 2006 year, which is before the new IGS started (2007). As it states:
What if I finished my course before 1 May 2007 and was planning to apply for the Science and Engineering Graduates Scheme?