ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Need advice abt EEA2 application from moderators

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

ran

Need advice abt EEA2 application from moderators

Post by ran » Tue Mar 20, 2007 3:26 pm

Hi,

I am an Indian national living in the uk for the last 5 years. Initially I was a student and since 2004 may am on a hsmp visa. I plan to get married to my dutch girlfriend this summer and am planning to apply for a EEA residence permit but I had several queries about it.

My initial query is whether I can apply for a EEA residence permit from within uk on an hsmp visa.

My girlfriend is a student and has been living in uk since summer 2005. She is currently doing her PhD since last year. I think she is exercising her treaty rights in that respect. But I needed to know whether there are any further requirements on her for being a 'qualifying' person as she is a student. ( I had noticed in some websites that health insurance etc. maybe required). And are the chances of success higher in EEA2 applications if my gf takes up a job?

Also I needed to know whether the visa will be given for a period of 5 years for sure or can it be for a lesser period as she is a student because then it would mean an application hassle again in the future. Related to that - does she need to apply for registration certificate herself?