ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Spouse Visa Financial questions

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

JC.
Newly Registered

Spouse Visa Financial questions

Post by JC. » Tue Mar 20, 2007 4:33 pm

Hi, my American girlfriend and I (british) intend to marry towards the end of the year in Mexico and spend 6 months together out there as "tourists" living as a newly married couple.

We intend to file for a spouse visa.

I am currently a student and of course have little or no money. Neither do I own my own house.

My questions relate to how an ECO would look at
a) funding
b) living arangments.

Whilst I have little or no money, indeed I am into my student overdraft, my girlfriend has a trust which she can get access to to the value of around $50k USD. We would initially live with my parents. There are no issues with overcrowding I have checked this. Then, I would return to university for 9 months to complete my degree. We would rent a flat together and we would both get menial jobs to sustain ourselves whilst I complete my degree.
Completing the degree opens up jobs to me which would otherwise be unavaliable.
I currently have applied for and have recieved 2 years worth of student loans.

1) Would the ECO accept that $50k is enough to support us for our plans?
2) Should the money be in her name, in my name or in a joint account?
3) Does my own low bank account have a bearing on things given that we have $50k between us?