ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Driving Points and Fixed penalty

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

willbeok
Newly Registered

Driving Points and Fixed penalty

Post by willbeok » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:28 pm

Hi all,
I am new to this immigration Board and turned to it as I cant get a definitive answer from anyone and wanted to post here to see what experiences or recommendation I can get to help me make my decision in applying for my Naturalisation application.

I currently have ILR since July 2011.

I want to apply for Naturalisation but currently I have points on my license due to speeding and paid fixed penalty for these, I did not go to court for these at all. The first set of points (3) were in oct 2009 and I got further 3 points for the same in Oct 2010.
I would have 3 points taken off in Oct 2013 and wanted to know if the remaining points on my license would have an adverse effect on my application. I have read in the guidance notes of the application form that "they might not disregard the driving offences".
Hoping any of you could shed some light on this for me.

Thank you and Kind regards,

VR

3 yrs from October 2010

Post by VR » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:43 pm

willbeok,

You can apply and are likely to succeed, though the new guidance says they are going to look at a pattern of offending, since you have not gone to the court and paid your fine, I believe you should be fine.
cheers
vr

innocentdevil
Diamond Member

Post by innocentdevil » Wed Oct 02, 2013 1:44 pm