ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

GNIB registration help!

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

MaryMack123
Newly Registered

GNIB registration help!

Post by MaryMack123 » Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:17 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm a US citizen studying in Ireland for one semester. Upon my arrival in Ireland, I received a 90 day stamp in my passport. However, I will only be staying in the country a bit over two weeks after those 90 days expire, before returning to the US. I know when registering with the GNIB you need to pay 300 euro, which is hard for me to afford since I'm a student. Is it necessary in my situation to register with the GNIB? What happens if I don't? Will I get into trouble/not be allowed on my flight when it's time for me to return home to the US? Thanks guys! I really appreciate the help.

aalazzani

Post by aalazzani » Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:36 am

My sincere reply is go to registration office and ask them the question explaining the circumstances and they will tell you what to do. At the end they would not force you to register that day or pay 300 as you are there to ask a question rather than to do the registration.

Actually it happened to me once that we went to register my wife and there was around 4 weeks remaining until I register, so they just stamped my wife's passport with registration stamp and charged us nothing for that given the short time until next registration.

So in short there is a chance that they will not charge you.

Regarding boarding plane, no one check your registration when you leave the country but it is nice to stay legal.

Good luck.