ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

IMMIGRATION QUESTIONS!

About immigration to Canada, canadian immigration programms.
Skilled worker points calculator | about skilled worker immigration

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

rachtate
Newly Registered

IMMIGRATION QUESTIONS!

Post by rachtate » Fri May 25, 2007 11:12 am

Hi all,

Im an English film industry professional working in London, looking to make the move to Canada and although there are some helpful websites I still have a few questions I really cant find the answer to (apologies for the wordiness but its hard to abbreviate):

1) I have enough points to gain a skilled workers permit, as does my boyfriend, but we want to apply together. How do we do this? Do we wait untill we technically become common-law partners (12 months of living together)? Even then, what do we do?

2) If only my name is on our lease, how can I prove my boyfriend has been living with me for 12 months? Do I need several forms of proof?

3) The application form asks for 'unencumbered' funds available... does this mean you cannot include monies available to withdraw on a credit card? How much money is the magic figure they are looking for?

I think they are the main 3 for now. If there are any lovely people out there who have been through this or happen to study the legislation (!?), Ill buy you a beer if you help me with all this crap!

Cheers

Rachael.

Richter

Post by Richter » Sat Jun 02, 2007 9:10 am

The answers to your common-law questions should be here:

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/sponsor/familymembers.html