ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

UK salaries compared to USA

Employers looking for workers, people looking for employers: Get connected here.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

raguraam
Newly Registered

UK salaries compared to USA

Post by raguraam » Sun Jun 03, 2007 8:14 pm

I browsed through jobserv and planrecruit job sites and surprised to find so many well paying jobs in UK in the IT field. I have been working in IT field in USA for many years now and honestly I thought in general you get more salary in USA. If I have to believe what these sites tell me, then UK is at least equivalent to USA if not more.

I have seen many jobs paying around 60-70K GBP for my skill. That is $120-$140k USD in todays exchange rate. Very comparable. In some instances(80k GBP+benefits) I would say it is even more than NewYork salary. Am I missing anything here or I was just ignorant so long?

ashishashah
India

Post by ashishashah » Mon Jun 04, 2007 9:45 am

Hi,

Well 60-70 K GBP is rare..(Depends on your skill set as well)..But avegare IT salary is 35-40 K...Bear in mind , there is a HUGE difference between Permanent and Contract rates...35-40 K is Permi salary, while in contracting sky is the limit..U can get 70 GBP/hour (which is 120 K per year!!!!)..

But yes, on an average UK salary is higer then US IT salary( i have stayed in UK and US and can vouch for that)...
But cost of living in UK is higher then in US, so u end up saving the same amount ;)
HTH!!
Ashish

pantaiema
Diamond Member

Re: UK salaries compared to USA

Post by pantaiema » Mon Jun 04, 2007 6:59 pm

Dear raguraam