ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

traveling while on a WP

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

rglover
Newly Registered

traveling while on a WP

Post by rglover » Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:27 pm

I am new to the boards and I am very new to the whole immigration thing. I am currently thinking about immigrating to the UK from the US. On a work visa I am curious if there are any problems traveling outside the UK while I am still on a work visa. I understand that there is criteria for applying for citizenship after 5 years and you can not be outside of the country for more then a specified amount of time. The main factor in my desire to immigrate to the UK would be to travel around Europe more so if it is more difficult until you are a citizen it might defeat the purpose. I have a US passport and I assume that I could travel on that until the 5 years are up.

Thank you in advance for any information. If this is not the best place to pose this question I apologize.

John
United Kingdom

Post by John » Tue Jun 05, 2007 5:42 pm

What sort of UK visa do you envisage getting? OK an employment visa, but based upon what? A Work Permit, or by using the HSMP scheme?
John

RobinLondon
Member of Standing

Post by RobinLondon » Tue Jun 05, 2007 6:12 pm