ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 2 Salary and pay raise question + Extension

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

the3rdman

Tier 2 Salary and pay raise question + Extension

Post by the3rdman » Sat May 17, 2014 1:02 pm

Hello all,

I had a bit of a difficult time finding any information on the following matter, so I was hoping this forum could offer some help.

My situation: I am a teacher under a Tier 2 Visa. As a teacher, the salary levels are unique in that they don't fall under the 'new entrant' or 'experienced' categories, rather they have there own pay scale. For the current year, I have been working as an unqualified teacher, but I recently received my QTS (Qualified Teacher Status), which will see my salary increase significantly, as it takes me into a higher pay scale category.

My question: Though this is a significant pay raise, it falls into a normal incremental increase in the education sector. Given the Tier 2 Policy Guidance, which reads: You must report the following within 10 working days: a change of salary from the level stated on the CoS, other than changes due to annual increments or bonuses, would my sponsor need to report my new salary or not? It seems like the policy guidance is relative, and not too specific, again I'm referring to the pay scale differences in the education sector compared to other jobs.