ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Schengen Visa - Entry to different country

Immigration to European countries, don't post UK or Ireland related topics!

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

cipher
Newly Registered

Schengen Visa - Entry to different country

Post by cipher » Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:07 pm

Hello everyone,

I am currently a UK resident, with a Tier 1 Visa valid till December 2015. I recently applied for a schengen visa through the Italian embassy and I got my visa valid for 1 month. I was scheduled to go away for a week to Italy in July for a week, but unfortunately I fell sick ( I suffer from Chron's disease and I had a really bad episode) and I had to cancel my trip (I lost the fee for the airlines but I managed to cancel my hotel booking). Now I would really like to travel to Spain with my wife. (which was part of the original plan), but I am not sure if I can since I never entered Italy in the first place. It's only for a weekend.

There seems to be a lot of conflicting opinions around. Some say that it doesn't matter which country I enter through as the Schengen visa is valid for all schengen states and they cannot prove that I did not visit Italy (I could have driven through from Spain to Italy or caught a train and there is no immigration stamping). Other say that they can indeed identify that I have not been to Italy and reject my next Schengen Visa application on the basis that I misused my original Italian issued schengen visa.

I would very much appreciate any advice or guidance in this regard. Which embassy should I speak to and get this clarified?

Regards

Alex

sheraz7
Respected Guru