ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Tier 2 switching jobs and salary requirements query

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

Divu

Tier 2 switching jobs and salary requirements query

Post by Divu » Sat Jun 27, 2015 9:55 am

Hi Friends and Experts!

I will be extremely grateful if you one of you could help me with the following questions.

I am currently in Tier 2 General Visa since September 2013 and I am a web designer (SOC- 2137). So initially I switched from PSW to Tier 2 as a new entrant and hence I was exempt from RMLT(even though the job was not under the SOC list, which still is'nt).
Now if I wish to switch to a new job for a different employer under the same SOC code job, does the new employer need to do a RMLT?

Coming back to my current situation, I did not get any pay rise since the start of my Tier 2 visa period. I am still under the old salary requirement(as per 2013 rule) which is less than the new salary requirements published in 2015 (which is New entrant: £20,800* / Experienced: £23,400). At the end of my current Tier 2 visa, provided I wish to extend it from the current employer for the same role, should I be earning the experienced salary to be eligible for the extension? I have approximately one year left for my current visa to end and I am concerned if I should start talking to my current employer about my future.

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

manci
Respected Guru

Re: Tier 2 switching jobs and salary requirements query

Post by manci » Sat Jun 27, 2015 10:46 am

Divu wrote:Hi Friends and Experts!