ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Spouse of British citizen but asked for student health insu

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

alinutzamica
Newly Registered

Spouse of British citizen but asked for student health insu

Post by alinutzamica » Sat Oct 24, 2015 8:45 am

I have applied for naturalisation in July 2015 as the spouse of a British citizen. We have been married since 2009. Between 2009-2012 I was a student working part-time.

I got a letter from Home Office asking for original papers for
-University Letters confirming enrolment (I can get these)
- Bank statements showing sufficient funds (it will be expensive but I can get these too)
- Evidence that I held comprehensive health insurance (that's a problem).

During my studies no one asked me about health insurance so I never thought I would need one and therefore I can't get any evidence for this.

My question is, do I need all of these if I apply as a spouse of a British citizen and NOT as a student.
And if not, what do I need to do as they gave me less than 2 weeks to sort this out.

Many thanks

vinny

Re: Spouse of British citizen but asked for student health i

Post by vinny » Sat Oct 24, 2015 9:21 am

If you an EEA national, then you were expected to have CSIC while being a student under Regulation 4(1)(d)(ii), unless you were a family member of an EEA national with a right of residence in the UK or are subject to transitional arrangements.