ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

TIME SENSITIVE: Defacto visa application questions

Australia: Points Calculator | Skilled Immigration
New Zealand: Points Calculator | work visas

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

dianamh
Newly Registered

TIME SENSITIVE: Defacto visa application questions

Post by dianamh » Tue Oct 16, 2007 8:01 am

Hi!

I am getting ready to apply for a defacto spouse visa to Australia but i have some questions that keep me up at night.

First of all I am American and my partner Australian by birth. I studied in Australia for almost 3 years and lived with my partner in that time.

Here the questions start:

1- I left Australia to write my masters dissertation at home, in America, but we maintained a relationship and it is contining and we love each other and all that good stuff. Will the fact that we have not lived with one another in the 12 months prior to filing the application be an issue?

2- Will the fact that I received 2 degrees in Australia help me in my application?

3-How long does it take for this to be processed?

4- I also hold a Colombian passport. WIll applying as a Colombian be better or worse in terms of how long it takes to process the application?

5- If I move to Colombia while I wait for my application to be (hopefully) approved and everyhting will the process take longer?

6- Roughly how long does it take for these types of visas to be approved?

Any answers would be great!!! I have been away from Australia for a few years and I miss it so...

Thanks!!
D

morrisde
Newly Registered

Post by morrisde » Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:23 pm

Hi,