ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

HSMP Dependant changing to Work Permit

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

Veejaycbe67
Newly Registered

HSMP Dependant changing to Work Permit

Post by Veejaycbe67 » Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:33 am

Hi,

I have migrated to U.K on HSMP Visa during May 2005. I also acquired 3 year extension in March 2006. Its now valid till May 2009. As of now I have 85 points in accordance with the new rules.
I am a software professional working for a MNC. My husband who is on HSMP dependant visa is also employed with a MNC for the past 1year and 2 months as an electrical engineer.
As the rules for extending HSMP visa is changing, we are thinking to convert my husband's visa to work permit, so that we can be safe even if my HSMP visa is unfortunately rejected later in 2009.His company is willing to sponsor for the WP.

I wish to clarify the following:

(1) Is it possible for him to convert to WP from HSMP dependant
(2) Will there be any difficulty for the company to sponsor for WP since he is already employed for the past 1+ years
(3)Can I still hold HSMP while he is on WP
(4)Should he & I (if required at a later date) have to go to our country for converting to WP
(5)Can I convert my HSMP to WP dependant later if need arises
(6)Is this a wise idea?

Can you guys throw some light please?

Regards,
:roll: Aries

hsmpwpilr

Post by hsmpwpilr » Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:54 am

Absolutely.