ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Child Citizenship Application - REFUSED

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

ToonBarmy
Newly Registered

Child Citizenship Application - REFUSED

Post by ToonBarmy » Sun Apr 10, 2016 4:53 pm

Hi All
I am a newbie on here and would just like to start by thanking anyone who reads and / or replies to my post. Last week we got the bad news that my Stepdaughters British Citizenship application has been refused. She is a 7 year old child, has duel Swiss / Thai nationality, she acquired her Swiss passport via her Swiss biological father with whom she has no contact, her Thai mum (my wife) has gone through the Settlement Visa, ILR and British Citizenship steps already and thus is now British.

We applied under section 3(1) at the Home Secretary's discretion but this was refused as they do not classify her as being "settled" here under the immigration laws. They (HO) state that as the minor of an EEA national she cannot be settled here until either she has ILR or has acquired Permanent Residence under European law. She has been living here very happily and attending school for the past 2+ years now and is very much "British" with a stronger local accent even than myself.

We brought her here to the U.K on Dec 29th 2013 and she entered the U.K on her Swiss passport gained as stated via her biological Fathers Country of origin, this passport was applied for and granted via the Swiss Embassy, Bangkok, Thailand.