ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Switching from Tier 5 to EEA2

Only for UK Tier 5 (Temporary work) points system
Also includes the Youth Mobility Scheme Tier 5

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

icehot1
Newly Registered

Switching from Tier 5 to EEA2

Post by icehot1 » Sun May 15, 2016 12:35 pm

Hey there! I'm currently in my final year of university on a Tier 4 visa, and will be switching to a Tier 5 Youth Mobility upon completion of my course. If I were to decide to settle down with my EEA boyfriend while staying in the UK on my Tier 5 visa, am I permitted to apply for the EEA2 Extended Family Member UK Resident Card? I've heard mixed stories about whether not this is permitted.

noajthan

Re: Switching from Tier 5 to EEA2

Post by noajthan » Sun May 15, 2016 12:47 pm

icehot1 wrote:Hey there! I'm currently in my final year of university on a Tier 4 visa, and will be switching to a Tier 5 Youth Mobility upon completion of my course. If I were to decide to settle down with my EEA boyfriend while staying in the UK on my Tier 5 visa, am I permitted to apply for the EEA2 Extended Family Member UK Resident Card? I've heard mixed stories about whether not this is permitted.
There is no boyfriend/girlfriend visa route into UK either under UK or EU regulations.

if you are in a durable relationship 'akin to marriage' you could apply for an EFM RC if sponsor/partner is exercising treaty rights in UK.

Good (if not unimpeachable) documentary supporting evidence would be required of:
  • identity (both parties);
    relationship;
    sponsor treaty rights;
& etc.
All that is gold does not glitter; Not all those who wander are lost. E&OE.