ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA (FM) enquiries. immigration from Canada

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

quilterconnor
Newly Registered

EEA (FM) enquiries. immigration from Canada

Post by quilterconnor » Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:31 pm

Hello! This is my first time posting anything ever, but amrunning out of time and options so could ise some advice!
I am a British Citizen (I have a passport). My wife moved over here close to 2 years ago from Canada on a 2 year youth mobility Visa. After 6 months of her living here, we met, dated and have now been married for 6 months. Her youth mobility Visa will expire this January. We applied for a residence card, EEA2 form at the beginning of October. Home office requested her biometric details around 2 weeks ago now.
We are super stressed, and confused about her getting her residence card!
First of all, will she get it before mid-January? If not, will she have to go back to Canada despite being my wife?
We read on the .gov website, that the family member of an EEA national does not have to apply for a residence card, but it helps with some things. What does this mean?! Does she even need a residence card?
If someone could PLEASE help that would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you!

noajthan

Re: EEA (FM) enquiries. immigration from Canada

Post by noajthan » Tue Nov 22, 2016 11:44 pm

Welcome.

How do you qualify to sponsor wife on EU route? (as you are British!).
All that is gold does not glitter; Not all those who wander are lost. E&OE.

MrSlyFox