ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Academic Progression from Level 7 to PhD

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

kkarimov
Newly Registered

Academic Progression from Level 7 to PhD

Post by kkarimov » Sun Apr 16, 2017 9:11 pm

Hi All,

I just need some advice on my circumstances please.

I completed my Masters in the UK in 2014 and started ACCA (14 papers) in 2015. My ACCA course is ending in June, 2017 and my visa expires in November 2017. I have been actively applying to PhD programmes in the UK, and there is a high chance that I will be accepted by the University of Greenwich.

Unfortunately, I have passed only 5 ACCA papers so far and I will possibly pass one more this last semester.

Will I be able to apply to extend Tier 4 visa in the UK to study PhD or should I go home to make a visa application due to not completing the course which I was granted Tier 4 for? I called UKVI telephone number (0300 123 2241) and spoke to 7 different call centre agents and only one of them said I should go home to apply for Tier 4 visa as I would not be completing my current course, and the rest 6 said I can make a Tier 4 visa application in the UK as PhD is a higher level from ACCA (Professional Qualification). Which advice is correct? I am still confused about where I should apply from?

Your advice will be appreciated.

keysersoze22

Re: Academic Progression from Level 7 to PhD

Post by keysersoze22 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 1:55 pm