ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Time taken by companies to make a decision after interview

Employers looking for workers, people looking for employers: Get connected here.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

ssingh179
Newly Registered

Time taken by companies to make a decision after interview

Post by ssingh179 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:24 pm

Hi All,

I am on a HSMP visa in the UK, landed here on Jan 11, and am looking for a job. I have about 9 years of work experience in embedded/DSP/multimedia domains.

I was interviewed by a company on Jan 31, it is almost two weeks now. The interview was arranged by a recruiter, and when I talked to him a few days back, he told me that they have not made a decision as yet, but as soon as they do, they will inform him, and he will in turn let me know.

So I presume that they are even now in the process of making a decision.

My question is - what is the (average) time taken by companies to inform a candidate about the decision made by them?

A friend of mine, who has been in the UK for the last 2 years tells me that at times companies take up to month to decide. Is that an accurate statement?

Thanks,
ssingh179

SKUK
Member of Standing

Post by SKUK » Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:46 pm

They are scouting for other candidates. My advice would be don't bank on its outcome. Keep attending other interviews

ssingh179
Newly Registered

Post by ssingh179 » Tue Feb 12, 2008 8:52 pm

Thanks for the advice. Of course, I am not banking on getting an offer, it is just that the interview went well (they grilled me for almost 5 hours), and the job specification showed a good match with my skills.