ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Marrying an EU National.

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

oraake

Marrying an EU National.

Post by oraake » Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:27 pm

hello i just joined this board. I am currently a student in the UK with a view at graduating in Dec 2008. We (my fiancee and i) are about to get married, hopefully in about 2-3 weeks, she is french.

I renew my students visa periodically. The present visa expires in march 2008, of course renewable till dec 08 or jan 09. I was just wondering can i apply for an indefinite stay once married or would i need to extend my students visa and wait till i graduate before applying for an indefinite leave to remain..... honestly i need advise as i am rather oblivious to these things.

I do know i am able to get a different class of visa once we get married but i really don't know what it's called. I also wish to know how to apply for this new kind of visa and documents needed

Thank you as i earnestly await your response?

vinny

Marrying an EU National.

Post by vinny » Sun Feb 17, 2008 11:14 pm

If you have been in the UK continuously and legally for at least 10 years, then you may consider applying for ILR using Form SET(O) under the Long Residence Rules (276A-276E).

Alternatively, after marriage:

Provided that she's a qualified person, you may apply under European law on Form EEA2. It may then take you another 5 years to attain a Permanent right of residence.