ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Employer can't do £35k - need advice on options

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

Teacher31
Newly Registered
United States of America

Employer can't do £35k - need advice on options

Post by Teacher31 » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:41 pm

Hi everyone,
I've been working for the same sponsor since September 2011, first on Tier 1 psw and then on to Tier 2 in 2013. When the £35k threshold was announced in 2015, my employer said they would do what they needed to do to ensure I remained with them. My 5 year anniversary for tier 2 would be next September.
Long story short, my employer told me today that unfortunately, they would not be able to honour the £35k threshold. I'm a teacher but I work for a company that does not operate to teacher pay and conditions. They have their own payscale, and my current salary is around £25k.

The good news is that I have until September 2019 on my current tier 2 visa, so I've got some time to figure out what to do. At the end of this visa, I wouldn't be able to extend my tier 2 visa as I would have been on it for the full allotted time of 6 years. Including the time I've been in the UK on my tier 4 visa, in 2019 I will have been here for 9 years, one year short of the 10 year long residence route.

With a little under 2 years left remaining with tier 2, can I search for another job with another sponsor?

Are there any loopholes I don't know about with tier 2 for getting an extra year? I'm assuming the answer is no but thought I'd ask.