ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Employer License Expired

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

PinnyThePooh
Newly Registered
Pakistan

Employer License Expired

Post by PinnyThePooh » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:16 pm

My employer's license has expired and we found out this morning. I'm currently on a Tier 2 (General) valid till 05/2019. I've been working for 6-7 years with the first 2 years on Post Study Work visa and Tier 2 since.

Aside from that I've been in the UK since Nov 2004 during which I was at Uni. The reason I don't have an ILR already is because a visa application for renewal in 2009 was rejected because of incomplete documentation provided by my university. A application was made immediately after and was granted but the gap broke my 10 year continuous stay.

My current period of 5 years on Tier 2 only is going to be in April/May 2018. My Employer is now attempting to renew his licence but from what it sounds like this process might take up to 2 months. As I understand it, I will have 60 days from whenever the Home Office sends me the curtailment letter to find a new sponsor or leave the country.

Some questions regarding the options I have:
1- Continue working and hope that the license is renewed.
Q: Do I then get another Tier 2 or will the same one continue?

2- Change jobs, get another sponsor and apply for another Tier 2, then 2 months after that apply for an ILR.
Q: Timescales. My notice period is 2 months and there is the whole business of the labour market test for 28 days so I essentially needed to have a job offer a month ago.