ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Permanent residency, Naturalisation & Citizenship in Ire

Immigration to European countries, don't post UK or Ireland related topics!

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

chen
Newly Registered

Permanent residency, Naturalisation & Citizenship in Ire

Post by chen » Wed Dec 29, 2004 7:17 pm

Dear all,

Good evening!

I am a Chinese national living in the Republic of Ireland since Jan. 1999. For all the past 6 years here I have been holding a study visa which is renewed annually. I studied the English language initially, then went on to do a bachelar degree in psychology. I am currently on my final year of this degree, and start worrying my near future ahead.

As some of you may already known, the new Irish Nationality and Citizenship Act 2004 will come into operation from the New Year, 2005. And under Section 16A of this Act, it is stated that "a period of residence in the State shall not be reckoned when calculating a period of residence for the purposes of granting a certificate of naturalisation if" ... "(b) it is in accordance with a permission given to a person under section 4 of the Act of 2004 for the purpose of enabling him or her to engage in a course of education or study in the State".

To my understanding, this is to say that because I was a STUDENT all the time, the past 6 years that I have spent here in this country do NOT help at all in enabling me to meet the minimum requirements of periods of residency towards naturalisation.

Here are my questions: