ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA EFM (Durable Partner) Refusal, Help

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

eggsontoast
Newly Registered
Malaysia

EEA EFM (Durable Partner) Refusal, Help

Post by eggsontoast » Fri Jan 24, 2020 12:55 pm

My EEA EFM application as a durable partner to an EU national has been refused. My background is that we were both students studying at the same Uni. I made the application with copious amounts of evidence putting us at the same address, and since my partner was recently employed (at the time of application) I was able to provide payslips to support the fact that she was exercising treaty rights.

The Home Office gave the following reasons:

1) Evidence that you have been residing with EEA national indicates that you were sharing accommodation as fellow students rather than as a couple in a durable relationship.

2) Claimed absence from UK visiting Sponsor's family, but no evidence of travel together or holidays together.

3) Sought further leave to remain as student for an additional year when it is claimed you were already in a durable relationship.

This is despite the fact that I have tenancy agreements in joint names spanning 3 years, and our current tenancy agreement (in another City) is also in joint names even after we have graduated.I sought a tier 4 as it was easier and more straightforward than applying for EEAEFM for doing my postgraduate, but they have interpreted it against my EEAEFM application.