ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Taking on full time permanent role after study period for tier 4 visa (without sponsorship)

Only for UK Student Visas, formerly known as Tier 4 (General) student visa

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

Applepie9
Newly Registered
Hong Kong

Taking on full time permanent role after study period for tier 4 visa (without sponsorship)

Post by Applepie9 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 2:02 pm

Hi,

So I got a job offer for a full time permanent role (with no sponsorship) that starts on mid September, but I currently only have a tier 4 visa that expires on March 2021. I am a Masters student and my course ends Sept 2020
As I understand, tier 4 visa do not allow me to take on full time permanent role.

As I will be eligible to apply for the 'British Nationals (Overseas) in Hong Kong' in Jan 2021, this means there is a 4 months gap to have the 'right to work' if I am understanding the rules correctly.
https://www.gov.uk/guidance/british-nat ... -hong-kong

Is there any way for me to fill that 4 months gap so I can work legally during that gap period?

For example, is it possible for me to ask the employer to change the contract from 'permanent role' to an intership so instead so I can work as an intern till Jan2021, and after that I can take on permanent role so that I will be able to work legally throughout?

Thanks in advance

Applepie9
Newly Registered
Hong Kong

Re: Taking on full time permanent role after study period for tier 4 visa (without sponsorship)

Post by Applepie9 » Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:13 pm

So I called the right to work hotline I got from gov.uk