ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

NATURALIZATION

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

ajani

NATURALIZATION

Post by ajani » Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:33 pm

I hope somebody can help me with this question. I arrived UK in August 2001 on a student visa. I graduated in april 2003 and received ILR in April 2008 after 5years on HSMP.

My question is this, can i apply for naturalisation now or must i wait until April 2009. I read on the UK immigration website that discretions might be applied to certain applicants before one year on ILR but i am not sure if i qualify.

The UK immigration rules keep changing rapidly and if i can avail myself of any discretion that would enable me get this done on time, i would like to take advantage of that.

dnicky
Member of Standing

Post by dnicky » Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:49 pm

On what basis do you think should BIA apply discretion your case?

Just because you want to end uncertainity by gaining citizenship early than you qaulify for, does not warrant discrtion to be used on part of BIA.

alina76

Post by alina76 » Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:49 pm

Hi,

I am not trying to hijack this thread, but you said that you have got ILR recently based on 5 year HSMP.
Can I request you to please share your experience of getting ILR under HSMP as I have to apply next month.

1. Was that a PEO application.