ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Dependant Visa Renewal/Extension

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

themalern
Newly Registered
Philippines

Dependant Visa Renewal/Extension

Post by themalern » Fri Aug 12, 2022 4:55 am

I have just gone through a crazy application process with my wife's extension of her spouse/dependant visa. There are several things that I'd like to point out though. First things first, I am an overseas nurse employed by one of the NHS hospitals in Sussex area.

The first obstacle came when we wanted to renew our visas early back in April of this year as we were planning to apply for a Schengen visa because of a holiday we planned on October. However, during the application process (perhaps I am just too uninformed or ignorant of the visa renewal process) I found out that a new Certificate of Sponsorship had to be generated by my employer for the renewal of my visa to be granted.

Human resources said that the earliest that they can issue a new CoS would be on the 25th of June -- 3 months before my current visa is set to expire. But I already completed the application and was able to pay £247 just for a new BRP to be sent to me but still had the same expiry date!

Fast forward to a few days ago, the new CoS was issued very late, it came around the 8th of this month and I ended up scrambling to renew my visa because I only have more than a month to work on it and my wife's dependant visa was also set to expire on the same date as mine.