ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Need advice with my Tier 2 situation

Only for the UK Skilled Worker visas, formerly known as Tier 2 visa route

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

MisfitMeL

Need advice with my Tier 2 situation

Post by MisfitMeL » Wed Jan 21, 2009 1:26 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm planning to apply for the new Tier 2 work permit and I'm looking for advice and opinions from people as I couldn't find specific info relating to my situation.

This might be a long winded post but please bear with me!

I have been in the UK since Sept 2005. I did a one year Masters course in Computer Science and after that switched to the Fresh Talent Scotland scheme.

Finding a job was very hard but fortunately, I started work mid Nov 2008. My Fresh Talent visa is due to expire in July 2009 so I'm starting to stress out about switching into another category.

I tried the points calculator for the Tier 1 and Tier 2 categories and I fulfilled all the requirements except the earnings section.

I'm currently on less than 16k a year. I've only started working in Nov 08 so I don't have the annual salary to show for if I wanted the Tier 1 visa. However, even if my projected annual earnings was taken into consideration, it still wouldn't be sufficient as I need to have 20k or more and I am no where near that amount!

Next issue, I will have completed 6 months working for my current employer in May and according to the Immigration website, this means I can claim 30 points and they don't have to go through the resident labour market test. Fabby!!