ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Irish citizenship for a child born in Northern Ireland (to non-EU parents)

Forum to discuss all things Blarney | Ireland immigration

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

GKM24
Newly Registered
India

Irish citizenship for a child born in Northern Ireland (to non-EU parents)

Post by GKM24 » Tue Jul 30, 2024 4:16 pm

Hello All,

I have been working in Belfast since Nov,2019 and currently I am on UK Skilled worker visa (Tier 2 General).
I am going to apply for my ILR (Indefinite Leave to Remain) in UK in Oct,2024.

My son was born in March,2023 in Belfast and I didn't have ILR when he was born.
But I have lived 3 years in Northern Ireland before my son was born.

My wife and I are non-EU nationals(Indian). My son currently holds the same nationality as we do and also got UK dependant visa and Indian passport.
I know my son will be eligible to get British citizenship after my ILR.

I have few question about applying Irish citizenship for my son. I have found below information from citizensinformation.ie.

As per Good Friday agreement, "Since 1 January 2005, if you are born in Northern Ireland, you can claim Irish citizenship if your parent (or parents) are either British or Irish citizens, or one of them has lived on the island of Ireland for at least 3 out of the 4 years immediately before your birth."

Source link: https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/m ... ur%20birth.

Questions:
1.Is he eligible for Irish citizenship now? (Before getting my ILR from UK)
2.If yes, then what are steps to get it? (Please share the links to apply for the same, if possible)