ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Working in Ireland

Immigration to European countries, don't post UK or Ireland related topics!

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

rahul_mundke
Newly Registered

Working in Ireland

Post by rahul_mundke » Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:55 am

Hi,

I am a masters student from India. I had a work experience of 3.5 years in IT. I worked for Infosys Technology. And doing a masters in Information Technolgy from IIT Bombay.

I am interested in a job in Ireland or UK.
For UK i have a option of applying for HSMP.
But when after going thorugh Ireland consulate websites
I found that it is necessary to have a job offer from a Ireland based company to get the work permit visa.
I did applied to few Ireland based companies/agencies but they replied stating since i dont have work permit for Ireland they would not be able to consider my application.

This is becoming a chicken and egg problem for me.
Please guide me what should i do ?

Also can somebody also give me idea/comparison about job in UK Vs. Ireland meaning where would one should prefer and why.

Thanks.

Best Regards,
Rahul

AnandVishwanathan
Newly Registered

HSMP or WORK VISA

Post by AnandVishwanathan » Thu Mar 31, 2005 7:59 pm

Hi,

You got it right there, it is a chicken and egg problem. As about guidance it depends what your priorities are and what you are looking for. Flying to Ireland to work( that is you getting a job, then getting the required visa etc... ) seems to be close to impossible these days.

If your confident about getting a job in UK then, go for the HSMP.

Cheers!!!