ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

eea family permit

Immigration to European countries, don't post UK or Ireland related topics!

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

uptimist
Newly Registered

eea family permit

Post by uptimist » Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:34 am

I am very new in terms of membership,but i have been a regular visitor on this forum.I must commend the initiatives of all members in help dealing with various issues.
I am a british citizen,exercising treraty right in ireland.I met my wife ( non eu) in the uk and both had 3 children.she had been living in the uk illegally when i met her and because i had always wanted to go abroad ,we decided to go to her country (ghana) for marriage and fortunatelly i got a job here in ireland.I invited her over to ireland and she got 5yr EU Stamp 4 since february 2007.She was recently refused an eea family permit visa fron the uk embassy on the basis that she had been in the uk illegally in the past.
My problem is, does been illegal in the past means that she will never be able to go to uk when her husband and her 3 children are all british citizens.
As i understand from this forum,the surinder sigh case allows us to come back to uk on a either a visit or to settle back in uk.
Based on the eu directives, are is the entry clearance officer right to prevent me wife from ever coming to the uk when her only offence she committed in the past was being in the uk illegally.
I agree there should be a punishment for illegal immigration but where does that ends?

mym
Member of Standing

Post by mym » Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:13 pm