ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Will Post-Study Work Visa Break continuous resid.?

General UK immigration & work permits; don't post job search or family related topics!

Please use this section of the board if there is no specific section for your query.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

KCUK
Newly Registered

Will Post-Study Work Visa Break continuous resid.?

Post by KCUK » Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:03 pm

I have been studying in UK for nine years already and am graduating next month. I want to apply for the Tier 1 (Post-Study Work) visa so I will have time to find a job in UK. My question is as the title of this post:

will post-study work visa break the 10 years continuous long residence required by obtinaing the permanent residence (PR)?

If it will not, does it mean once I have found a job, I need only 1 year work permit for getting the PR?

Many thanks

lboro

Post by lboro » Mon Jun 15, 2009 6:59 pm

Hi KCUK

Post study work visa (or any visa indeed) won't break your continuous residence, and after 10 years of continuous legal residence you will be eligible for ILR ( Though this will depend on the implementation of a new citizenship bill due to take effect on Dec, 2010!- Subject to parliament approval)

All the best

magsi23
Member of Standing

Post by magsi23 » Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:35 am

As Iboro said it wont break your continuous residence, however you need to make sure there are no gaps between your visa, if you do you need to make sure you have the proof that application was submited on time ie home office acknowlegement letter, receipt from post office etc.

Hope this helps
Magsi

KCUK
Newly Registered