ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA Family Permit for France

Immigration to European countries, don't post UK or Ireland related topics!

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

bobbert
Newly Registered

EEA Family Permit for France

Post by bobbert » Sat Jul 18, 2009 8:06 pm

Dear All,

I hope someone may have some info on the following as I'm having difficulty finding detailed information in english or in french...

I'm English, I've been working and living in France for nearly 3 years.
My girlfriend is Mexican, has been studying in france for 2 years but student visa is now expired.

Last time we travelled to England (from where she was flying back to Mexico) on the eurostar, and that same information was basically given to the UK passport control, they told us that we should look into getting an EEA Family Permit for which it is sufficient to live together. We would be able to prove that we've lived together for 1 year.

Does anybody know how the process works in France (according to the passport control officer it's easier than it would be in the UK...)?

- if she enters france on a tourist visa, could we then apply?

thanks for any help

John
United Kingdom

Post by John » Sat Jul 18, 2009 8:36 pm

The EEA Family Permit is a UK invention, and in Schengen countries, such as France, a visitor visa is sufficient to get into the country. Except I don't think that Mexicans need a visa to enter "Schengen-land".