ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Full-time student wants to apply for benefit

Questions and discussions about claiming benefits while living and working in the UK

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

franked
Newly Registered

Full-time student wants to apply for benefit

Post by franked » Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:22 pm

hi im a full time student and recieving student loan and grant but now in a financial difficulties. would like to know if I can apply for jobseekers allowance or any other benefit such as housing to survive.
thanks

stanik

Post by stanik » Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:00 pm

if you are full time student, how can you work? you can't get JSA if you are not be able to work.

franked
Newly Registered

Post by franked » Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:54 pm

I have checked the directgov website and it says that you can recieve jobseekers allowance if you're married and your partner is also a student and/or you have a child or if you're a lone parent.
I also rang my local JCP today and they gave me the same story that I cant apply for JSA if im in full time education. However its true, but not exactly. you can apply and get JSA if one of the above applies to you.

now since students are quite restricted from recieving the benefits, there are other ways they can get financial help and support such as ALF (Access to Learning Fund) from their Uni/College.
Dude I feel like an expert just after one days wandering around :D

Wanderer
Diamond Member
Ireland

Post by Wanderer » Thu Jun 24, 2010 7:53 pm

Whats ur nationality and visa status?
An chéad stad eile Stáisiún Uí Chonghaile....

franked
Newly Registered

Post by franked » Fri Jun 25, 2010 5:26 am