ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Is Location so important in the CV?

Employers looking for workers, people looking for employers: Get connected here.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

Informatician
Newly Registered

Is Location so important in the CV?

Post by Informatician » Sun Sep 05, 2010 1:21 pm

Hi, I have recently migrated to UK with Tier1 dependant visa. I have 5+ years of experience in BI (esp. Informatica). I live in Coventry and I am ready to relocate around London.In my CV, I have mentioned my address as Coventry. Is this a block for me to search jobs in London? Some people were saying that I may not get a call if the living place is different than the company that I am applying for? Is it true? Do I need to change my address to London. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.[/code]

kenfrapin

Post by kenfrapin » Sun Sep 05, 2010 8:01 pm

There is no harm mentioning your address or current location in your CV. That being said, if you do mention your location, you can also state clearly whether you are open for relocation or not and also whether anywhere within the UK or specific places. This will then ensure your CV is not rejected just because of your location :lol:

You do not get minus points based on where you live but if just to avoid certain agents wondering if you are open to move to a new city, it's always best to clearly state your relocation priority in the CV

KP

vet

Post by vet » Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:14 pm

btw, do we even need to mention the address/lolcation in the CV. I thought we just need to mention the email id & a UK phone number.

kenfrapin