ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

EEA FP as student - sufficient funds req

Use this section for any queries concerning the EU Settlement Scheme, for applicants holding pre-settled and settled status.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

niksapa
Newly Registered

EEA FP as student - sufficient funds req

Post by niksapa » Sat Nov 20, 2010 11:30 pm

Hi there,

me and my girlfriend are planning to get married soon abroad and then apply for an eea family permit. As I am a student here in the UK, being an EU national I basically qualify (+ the much discussed insurance cover...).

Now I only find the part of the directive 4(3) and 4(4) somewhat unclear.
(4) For the purposes of paragraphs (1)(c) and (d) and paragraphs (2) and (3), the resources of the person concerned and, where applicable, any family members, are to be regarded as sufficient if they exceed the maximum level of resources which a United Kingdom national and his family members may possess if he is to become eligible for social assistance under the United Kingdom benefit system.
As far as I understand I am supposed to have enough funds so I would not qualify for any benefits? I mean, I have savings and my girlfriend as well and I do temporary work or rather casual with an agency. At least we consider the funds we have together as sufficient because we are both gonna start working here next year. Our savings would even last about a year without working (with obviously no high standard of living...). But I doubt that the HO would consider it sufficient.