ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Time of Stay in Jersey

Only for queries regarding Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR). Please use the EU Settlement Scheme forum for queries about settled status under Appendix EU

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

Jerseyguy
Newly Registered

Time of Stay in Jersey

Post by Jerseyguy » Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:38 pm

Hi,

I have been working in Jersey, Channel Islands for the past 2 years.
My question is if I move to UK, will my stay of 2 yrs in Jersey be counted towards the 5 yrs continuous stay rule for ILR purposes.

Thanks,
Jerseyguy

intgral

Re: Time of Stay in Jersey

Post by intgral » Wed Feb 09, 2011 3:19 pm

Hi,

Did you get an answer to this? I was interested as well, being offered a job there.

Anyone?

Thank you.

Jerseyguy wrote:Hi,

I have been working in Jersey, Channel Islands for the past 2 years.
My question is if I move to UK, will my stay of 2 yrs in Jersey be counted towards the 5 yrs continuous stay rule for ILR purposes.

Thanks,
Jerseyguy

fhumbert

Post by fhumbert » Wed Feb 09, 2011 4:04 pm

On what basis have you been living and working in Jersey ?

Jerseyguy
Newly Registered

Post by Jerseyguy » Wed Feb 09, 2011 5:45 pm

I have a 3 year work permit from the Jersey immigration authority.

fhumbert

Post by fhumbert » Thu Feb 10, 2011 8:37 am

The Channel Islands are not part of the UK but under the british nationality act, they are treated as if they were.
So you will be able to count your time there towards the 5 years

Jerseyguy
Newly Registered

Post by Jerseyguy » Thu Feb 10, 2011 1:17 pm

Thanks for the reply fhumbert :)