ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Citizenship query related to income tax

A section for posts relating to applications for Naturalisation or Registration as a British Citizen. Naturalisation

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

dex123
Newly Registered

Citizenship query related to income tax

Post by dex123 » Mon Jan 24, 2011 11:01 pm

Well last week I booked an NCS appointment for midweek this week and a couple of days later I got my tax calculations sent to me by HMRC. I have been working in UK for last 6 years or so, always on PAYE.

Basically I have never filed tax-returns on my own becuase I am on PAYE and HMRC sends me the tax-calculations whenever there is any under or over tax payment and then adjusts the the tax code. The issue is that for the FY 2007-08 and 2008-09 I have an underpaid tax of about £300 each. So in total I owe HMRC about £600. The reason for underpayment is that benefit-in-kind (which I guess is the subsidized gym membership from my company) in my tax-code was lower than the actual amount taxable.