ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

LTd company accounting / Dividend - Urgent please help

Archived UK Tier 1 (General) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

Simply
Newly Registered

LTd company accounting / Dividend - Urgent please help

Post by Simply » Tue Mar 01, 2011 8:39 am

I am a contractor and working through my own limited company, which I set up about 6 months back. I am the sole shareholder of the company. I am planning to apply from PSW to Tier-1 in the next few days (if the below works out otherwise have to wait until 15th of March).

Today I sent invoice £8000 (excluding VAT) to my agency for the work I have done from 1 Feb to 28 Feb. The agency will pay me against the invoice on 15th of March (this is as per their payment cycle).

Here my query is whether I can include £8000 in the P&L statement as turnover for the month of Feb and in the balance sheet as debtors and then can take dividend on these earnings before 15th March.

I have sufficient balance in my business bank account to take the dividend. The balance is for the payment of corporate tax, that I have to pay only towards the end of year 2011 once the annual accounts of the company are prepared.

Please note I have already taken dividend and salary against what I have earned until Jan-11.

My agency is ready to approve the invoice and mention on the invoice that the £8000 will be paid on 15th of March.

I have discussed this with my accountant and according to him there is no problem in taking dividend before 15th March on the earnings as this is within the accounting principles.