ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

BNO

Family member & Ancestry immigration; don't post other immigration categories, please!
Marriage | Unmarried Partners | Fiancé | Ancestry

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

abbas
Newly Registered

BNO

Post by abbas » Thu Mar 30, 2006 7:30 pm

guys i am new user and hope that u will guide me to best of your knowledge regarding BNO passport holder.My Question is:

I Got BNO passport and i am studying in Uk for last Five years, and i want to know that can i apply for british national or citizanship. Please reply. :arrow: :D

JAJ
Australia

Re: BNO

Post by JAJ » Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:07 am

abbas wrote: I Got BNO passport and i am studying in Uk for last Five years, and i want to know that can i apply for british national or citizanship. Please reply.
Short answer: no.

Longer answer: If you can get a work permit or HSMP, and accumulate 5 years in the UK in this capacity, then you can get permanent residence (ILR).

And if you have permanent residence for 1 year, and have lived in the UK for 5 years in total, then you can apply for registration as a British citizen (this is simpler than naturalisation). You need ILR before you can think about British citizenship on this basis.

Are you also a Chinese citizen?

sohail akhter

Post by sohail akhter » Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:30 pm

What does BNO stands for?

ppron747
inactive

Post by ppron747 » Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:32 pm

sohail akhter wrote:What does BNO stands for?