ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

Need to extend PSW by 2 months!

Archived UK Tier 1 (Post-Study Work) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

uniriri

Need to extend PSW by 2 months!

Post by uniriri » Tue May 03, 2011 5:54 pm

Hi all,

I am in a bit of a dilemma and am hoping someone here will be able to help. Apologies in advance for what will be a looong post but I am trying to be as thorough as possible :)

so,

I have been here since 2002 studying architecture.
2002 -2006 I studied Meng/RIBA Part 1
2006-2007 I worked as a Part 1 architecture assistant using a student visa extension that granted me able to work for a year.
2007-2009 Having gained enough work experience, I went back to study for my DipArch/RIBA Part 2
2009-present I am working on PSW visa as a Part 2 architecture assistant.

While working, I have continued with my RIBA Part 3 education which is a part time course to be taken whilst in architecture employment.

The final exam is in Nov 1, but my PSW visa expires 10 Sept

As i really want to finish the course, What could I do to extend my stay for the 2 months?

I have researched and read forums and came to these conclusions:

PSW Visa - definitely cannot be extended

Tier 2 Visa - my employer has offered to sponsor me however, as my job is not on the shortage list and my salary of 24k is barely above the minimum? what are the chances of me getting the visa? My employer has never sponsored anyone before and we are a small architecture practice.