ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

No continous employment - Please help!

Only for queries regarding Indefinite Leave to Remain (ILR). Please use the EU Settlement Scheme forum for queries about settled status under Appendix EU

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2

maynarduk
Newly Registered

No continous employment - Please help!

Post by maynarduk » Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:26 pm

I've been on a Tier 1 visa since 2008 + 6 months work permit in 2007. I will be eligible for ILR in July 2012. My Tier 1 runs out in April 2013. My question is:-

1) I have 2 gaps of unemployment - one in 2008 for 6 months and one this year for 4 months. I'm a IT contractor and had some bad luck getting employed in the past. I'm in employment now since July and this contract runs till end of next year so I will still be employed when I apply for ILR.

2) I was out of the country for 90 days in 2008 (during my unemployment period)

Will my past unemployments impact my ILR application in July next year since I wasn't "economically active" for the whole 5 years?

I read that under the new requirements, they (HO) only ask you for your last 12 months payslips and bank statements.

Your advice is much appreciated. Thank you

mk357
Member of Standing

Re: No continous employment - Please help!

Post by mk357 » Mon Aug 22, 2011 9:14 pm

maynarduk wrote:I've been on a Tier 1 visa since 2008 + 6 months work permit in 2007. I will be eligible for ILR in July 2012. My Tier 1 runs out in April 2013. My question is:-