ESC

Click the "allow" button if you want to receive important news and updates from immigrationboards.com

Immigrationboards.com: Immigration, work visa and work permit discussion board

Welcome to immigrationboards.com!

Login Register Do not show

7 yrs in IT+B.Tech in Metallurgy(Will it be a deterrent?)

Archived UK Tier 1 (General) points system forum. This route no longer exists.

Moderators: Casa, Amber, archigabe, batleykhan, ca.funke, ChetanOjha, EUsmileWEallsmile, JAJ, John, Obie, push, geriatrix, vinny, CR001, zimba, meself2, Administrator

panky922
Newly Registered

7 yrs in IT+B.Tech in Metallurgy(Will it be a deterrent?)

Post by panky922 » Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:06 pm

Hello All,

I have a B.Tech degree in Metallurgy from a Indian Engg School and 7 years of work experience in the IT field. I am claiming to have a graduate level work experience for 5 years of my career and 2 years of senior level work experience after that where i worked as a Project Manager.

I have studied 3 computer subjects and 4 Math subjects in My Engineering degree. But will this metallurgy degree cause a doubt in the minds of HSMP official regarding my capability to work as a software professional.

In my first job, i worked as an Associate Consultant with a Citigroup company in the financial services domain. I will be able to get a letter statiing my work responsiblities from my employer.

So, my qn - what else can i do to answer this doubt in the mind of HSMP officials ?

Thanks So Much

madmax
Newly Registered

Post by madmax » Wed Jun 21, 2006 9:48 am

Your B Tech degree should not cause any problems at all. What counts is whether you can prove that your work experience has been at a graduate level. If this is OK you will be able to claim points for both education and experience.

rizwan567
Diamond Member

Post by rizwan567 » Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:58 am